Learn Hebrew

Learn Torah

Hebrew for Christians
The Thirteen Principles of the Jewish Faith

Sheloshah-Asar Ikkarim -

The Thirteen Principles of the Jewish Faith

Printer-Friendly Version

Yod Gimmel Ikkarim

The Thirteen Principles of Faith (Sheloshah-Asar Ikkarim) constitutes the most well known Jewish creed; it was formulated by the great Jewish medievalist Rabbi Moses ben Maimon (Rambam), better known as Maimonides (1135-1204 CE), in his commentary on the Mishnah (Sanhedrin, 10). Maimonides claimed that he distilled these Thirteen Principles of Faith from the Taryag mitzvot (613 commandments)  enumerated in his exegesis of the Torah.



It is the custom of many congregations to recite these principles every day after the shacharit (morning) prayers in the synagogue.

The Thirteen Principles are as follows (click the links to read/hear the Hebrew):

  1. God Alone is the Creator
  2. God is Unique and One
  3. God is Incorporeal and Incomparable
  4. God is First and Last
  5. We are to Pray to God Alone
  6. The Words of the (Hebrew) Prophets are true
  7. Moses is the Chief Prophet
  8. The Torah has been Divinely Preserved
  9. Torah Cannot be Changed
  10. God knows All Things
  11. God Rewards the Righteous
  12. The Messiah will Come
  13. The Dead will be Resurrected

Download the PDF!

<< Return


Hebrew for Christians
Copyright © John J. Parsons
All rights reserved.