The Shema and the Trinity?

FAQs. Ask a question here (Public Access Forum)

The Shema and the Trinity?

Postby Guest » Tue Jan 11, 2011 6:20 am

In your article on the "Trinity" (Multiplicity in Oneness...), you mention that the Shema's "Adonai Eloheinu..." translates as the "Lord our Gods". I'm not an expert on Jewish grammar, but it seems to me that this is a bold, even a problematic assertion. I have to confess not quite understanding how do you arrive at the plural from...

The word Eloheinu meant always to me simply "our God" - i.e. Eloh (God) + the suffix nu (the plural possessive determiner our). I did an extensive research, but was unable to find outside evidence or support for your use of the plural form.

Would you be able to briefly explain what is the reason for using the plural (perhaps a quote of an authority or a source?).

Re: The Shema and the Trinity?

Postby admin » Tue Jan 11, 2011 6:25 am

Guest wrote:In your article on the "Trinity" (Multiplicity in Oneness...), you mention that the Shema's "Adonai Eloheinu..." translates as the "Lord our Gods". I'm not an expert on Jewish grammar, but it seems to me that this is a bold, even a problematic assertion. I have to confess not quite understanding how do you arrive at the plural from...

The word Eloheinu meant always to me simply "our God" - i.e. Eloh (God) + the suffix nu (the plural possessive determiner our). I did an extensive research, but was unable to find outside evidence or support for your use of the plural form.

Would you be able to briefly explain what is the reason for using the plural (perhaps a quote of an authority or a source?).