questions concerning Hebrew4Christians

FAQs. Ask a question here (Public Access Forum)

questions concerning Hebrew4Christians

Postby Guest » Wed Dec 15, 2010 3:08 am

To whom it may concern:

i just finished reading your note concerning the Hebrew and Greek text in regards to the Lords prayer ( i have also been using the Hebrew for Christians website along with a few other helps to learn the Hebrew language) and i have a few Questions.
Firstly i suppose i should give some context, i am a graduate of a conservative bible school; i studied hard and learnt as much as i could--over the past few years i have found myself in vocational ministry and have used that opportunity to deepen my understanding of the New Testament. In the employment of the hermeneutical technical i was taught, a technical commonly accepted, i am left with way more questions and very few answers. i was taught the Bible was written in Greek and studied the language and common Greek thought for the time period. The more i read the new testament, the more hebrew and less greek i see. In any case here are my questions: is there a legitimacy to the claim that the majority of what we know as the New Testament was originally written in Hebrew and perhaps selections in Aramaic? if so why are these questions no being addressed in our Christian post secondary institutions? secondly, i have loved my covenant theology, but never felt any anti semitism therein, that being said i do see the holes presented within the covenant systems of thought. so i guess the question is, if you are right and the "church" is a part of the Remnant what ought the church to do? in a sense i am relieved that your not an advocate for the Messianic view, but obviously the church is seriously missing the mark. what should the church do? and is there any room for an "evangelical" pastor in it? i have to say i am not receiving my pay cheque with a clean conscience these days.

thank you for posting your thoughts